2014 Ivey Awards

2014 Ivey Awards Go to Co- Producing Directors, Bonnie Morris and Michael Robins for Lifetime Achievement and Actor, Tyler Michaels for Emerging Artist


The 10th annual Ivey Awards attracted a sold out audience to the show designed to recognize and showcase the work of professional theater companies and artists over the past year.

 Based on evaluations completed by the more than 150 volunteer theater evaluators who saw more than 1,000 performances created by 78 professional theaters in the Minneapolis-St. Paul seven-county metropolitan area from September 2013 through August 2014, three productions and eight individuals/ensembles were also recognized with 2014 Iveys: 

Productions Recognized

Cabaret, Theatre Latte Da  + Hennepin Theatre Trust

Ordinary Days, Nautilus Music Theater

Individual Recognition

Anne Byrd, Directing – “The 39 Steps”, Yellow Tree Theatre

Seraphina Nova, Playwright – “Dogwood”, Candid Theater Company

Eduardo Sicangco, Set Design/ Costume Design – “Cinderella”, Children’s Theatre Company

Sandy Spieler and Julie Boada, Properties Design – “Between the Worlds”, In the Heart of the Beast Puppet and Mask Theatre

Sally Wingert, Acting – Four Productions in 2013-2014

Nathan Cousins and Tristan Tift, Acting – “The 39 Steps”, Yellow Tree Theatre

Emerging Artist Award

Tyler Michaels, Actor

Lifetime Achievement Award

Bonnie Morris and Michael Robins, Co- Producing Directors


“Rose” – Minnesota Jewish Theatre Company – for Intellect and Emotional Intensity

“Driving Miss Daisy” – Jungle Theater – for acting


The 2014 Ivey Awards are presented with the generous support of Carousel Motor Group, Best Buy, The McKnight Foundation, Target, Dorsey & Whitney, Thomson Reuters, Risdall Marketing Group, Solve, Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi, Disciplined Growth Investors, J.P. Morgan, UBS, Actors’ Equity Association, IATSE, Trinchero Family Estates, Summit Brewing Company, Western Bank, martinpatrick3, iHeartMedia, Arts Ink, Clear Channel Outdoor, City Pages, Mpls/St. Paul Magazine, the CW23, MinnPost, Lurie Wealth Advisors, William Clark Photography, Minq, JB Hudson, Hotel Ivy